Thank you! We got your message

Oops! Something went wrong filling out the form..

the six


Coats of arms image
art and history

the medieval villages

Although Scala is home to only 1,500 inhabitants, it encompasses an area of 13 square km, the largest of all the municipalities of the Amalfi Coast. The variety of its landscapes is surprising: from the rocks close to the sea of Atrani and Amalfi, to the purely mountainous landscapes of the hinterland that reach the borders of the province of Naples. The structure of the town, typically medieval, has six decentralized villages, each clustered around a church and distributed along anorth-south axis. In the past, during its glory days, the inhabitedareas formed a continuous body, rich with elegantly decorated mansions. Today, due to historical troubles, Scala is characterized by much sparser buildings and the hamlets more strongly express their individual character and identity.

Coats of arms - Central Scala hamlet icon


The Cathedral of Saint  Lawrence, the two town squares, the 18th century fountain and the noble buildings.

art & history
Coats of arms - S Pietro hamlet icon

The hamlet of
S. Pietro

Also called Campoleone. This is the birthplace of  the founder of the
Order of the Knights of Malta.

Coats of arms - S Caterina hamlet icon

The hamlet of
S. Caterina

A mountainous area, immersed in chestnut groves.  Many trekking paths.

Coats of arms - Campidoglio hamlet icon

The hamlet of

This is the highest and most panoramic. Trekking and rock-climbing along the path which leads to Punta d’Aglio.

Coats of arms - Minuta hamlet icon

The hamlet
of Minuta

The small church of the Holy Annunciation, the panoramic square, the steps leading down to Amalfi and the ruins of the Basilica of St Eustace.

Coats of arms - Pontone hamlet icon

The hamlet
of Pontone

The medieval hamlet nearest to the sea on Monte Aureo (the Golden Mount). Trekking along the path leading to the Ziro Tower and Valle delle Ferriere.